secure site seal
Thurs-Sat 10am-6pm | Sun 11am-6pm
Click For Details

Hello there


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Nine college basketball icons who collectively impacted the sport as players, coaches and contributors have been selected to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022.

The Class of 2022 will be enshrined on November 20 in Kansas City as part of National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Weekend, which also features the annual Hall of Fame Classic tournament.

Making up the Class of 2022 are players Richard Hamilton of Connecticut, Larry Miller of North Carolina, Frank Selvy of Furman, and the late Jimmy Walker of Providence, along with coaches John Beilein, Jerry Krause and Lon Kruger.

They are joined by championship-winning coaches Jim Calhoun and Roy Williams, who will be formally honored in the Class of 2022 after initially being recognized as part of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame’s Founding Class in 2006.

In a career that began at the high school level and spanned more than four decades, JOHN BEILEIN won 829 college games spread over stops at Erie Community College, Nazareth, Le Moyne, Canisius, Richmond, West Virginia and Michigan. The winningest coach in Michigan history, he made a total of 20 trips to NCAA postseasons and won multiple conference Coach of the Year honors. Beilein’s career was headlined by a pair of Final Four appearances at Michigan – in 2013 and a run to the 2018 national title game. After departing UM in 2019, he spent one season coaching the NBA’s Cleveland Cavaliers.
With national championships at Connecticut in 1999, 2004 and 2011, JIM CALHOUN is one of just six coaches in NCAA Division I history with three or more titles. After early years coaching high school basketball, Calhoun went on to win 920 career games at Northeastern, UConn and Saint Joseph – putting him sixth on the current NCAA all-divisions wins list. While at UConn, he reached 16 NCAA Tournaments and four Final Fours, and won 10 Big East regular season championships and seven Big East Tournaments. Calhoun concluded his career in 2021 after three-plus seasons launching the Saint Joseph program
One of the top talents in Connecticut and Big East history, RICHARD HAMILTON scored 2,036 points from 1996-99 – the second-most in school history. As a junior in 1998-99, Hamilton was a consensus first-team All-American, the Big East Player of the Year and the Final Four Most Outstanding Player after leading UConn to its first-ever national title. He was also the Big East Player of the Year in 1997-98 and was a two-time All-Big East First Team selection. Hamilton went on to play 14 seasons in the NBA, making three All-Star Games and winning an NBA title with the Pistons in 2004.
JERRY KRAUSE has been an impactful leader on and off the court throughout his career. He spent 17 seasons as the head coach at Eastern Washington from 1967-85, winning 262 games and overseeing the Eagles’ transitions from the NAIA to NCAA Division II and ultimately to Division I. Krause later spent 20 years in operations roles at Gonzaga, helping build the program into a national power. He has been a pioneer in basketball research and coaching education, for which he was honored with the NABC Guardians of the Game Award for Advocacy in 2003. Krause is also a former member of the NABC Board of Directors and the NCAA Men’s Basketball Rules Committee, and was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame in 2000.
LON KRUGER holds the distinction of being the first Division I coach to lead five different programs to the NCAA Tournament. From 1982 until his retirement in 2021, Kruger amassed 674 wins, ranking among the top 40 in Division I history. He made 20 total NCAA Tournament appearances at Kansas State, Florida, Illinois, UNLV and Oklahoma after starting his college career at what is now UTRGV. He made two Final Fours – in 1994 with Florida and in 2016 with Oklahoma – and was a four-time conference Coach of the Year. Kruger also held NBA head and assistant coaching jobs with the Hawks and Knicks, and continues to serve the sport through his role as chair of the Coaches vs. Cancer Council.
A star on Dean Smith’s first two Final Four teams at North Carolina, LARRY MILLER is one of just three players in ACC history to win ACC Player of the Year and ACC Tournament MVP in consecutive seasons. From 1965-68, Miller scored 1,982 points, a mark that remains in the top 10 of the Tar Heel record book. He was a consensus first-team All-American in 1968 and earned second-team All-America honors in 1967, and is one of only three UNC players to average 20 points or more in three different seasons. Miller went on to play seven seasons in the ABA, where in 1972 he set a league record with 67 points in a game
From 1951-54, Furman’s FRANK SELVY piled up points like few players have in college basketball history. He led NCAA Division I in scoring both as a junior with 29.5 points per game and as a senior with an average of 41.7, and overall averaged 32.5 points over his three-year career. Most notably, Selvy scored 100 points on 41-of-66 shooting against Newberry on Feb. 13, 1954 – a scoring mark that has yet to be matched in Division I. He was a two-time Southern Conference Player of the Year, a three-time All-SoCon First Team selection, and a consensus All-American in 1954. Selvy was the top pick in the 1954 NBA Draft by the Baltimore Bullets, and made two NBA All-Star Teams in nine professional seasons.
JIMMY WALKER was an all-around standout at Providence from 1964-67. Walker averaged 25.2 points, 6.3 rebounds and 5.3 assists per game over his three years, leading PC to two NCAA Tournaments and an NIT berth. He was a three-time All-East selection, a consensus All-American as a junior and senior, and the 1967 Eastern Player of the Year. His 2,045 career points are third-most in Friars history, and his scoring average of 30.4 points per game as a senior led the nation and is the program’s highest single-season average. The Detroit Pistons selected Walker No. 1 overall in the 1967 NBA Draft, and he made NBA All-Star Game appearances in 1970 and 1972. Walker passed away in 2007 at the age of 63.
ROY WILLIAMS is one of the most accomplished coaches in the history of the sport. Originally a high school coach, Williams got his first head college job at Kansas in 1988, where he won 418 games in 15 seasons. He returned to his alma mater North Carolina in 2003, and over 18 seasons led the Tar Heels to 485 victories – making him the only coach in college basketball history to win 400 games at two schools. Williams’ UNC teams captured national championships in 2005, 2009 and 2017, and he led Kansas and Carolina to a combined nine Final Fours. He earned nine national Coach of the Year honors and nine conference Coach of the Year awards prior to retiring in 2021, and his 903 career wins are the third-most in history by a Division I coach.

Details on tickets for the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Induction Celebration will be announced soon. For more information on the event, visit
The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is located inside The College Basketball Experience (CBE), a world-class experiential entertainment facility adjacent to Kansas City’s T-Mobile Center. The Class of 2022 will be the 17th induction class in the Hall of Fame’s history.