secure site seal
Tues-Sat 10am-6pm | Sun 11am-6pm
Click For Details

Hello there

2023 Hall of Fame Induction Class

National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Reveals Class of 2023

Class of 2023 to be Celebrated Aug. 30 in Chicago  (PURCHASE TICKETS)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Five of the most impactful players, coaches and contributors in college basketball history have been selected to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

The Class of 2023 Induction Celebration – honoring the Hall of Fame’s 18th induction class – will be held on the evening of Aug. 30 in Chicago.

Making up the Class of 2023 are former players Johnny Dawkins of Duke and Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina, longtime Jefferson coach Herb Magee, and the late talent scout Tom Konchalski. They are joined by former Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski, who will be officially honored in the Class of 2023 after initially being among the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame’s Founding Class in 2006.

Johnny Dawkins is one of the most decorated players in Duke history, and is regarded as a key early figure in the program’s ascent to becoming a national powerhouse. From 1982-86, Dawkins piled up 2,556 points – a mark that stood as the school’s scoring record until 2006 and remains second all-time. He was a two-time consensus All-American, a four-time All-ACC selection, and was the recipient of the 1986 Naismith National Player of the Year award. As a senior, Dawkins led Duke to the ACC regular season and tournament titles, and an appearance in the NCAA national championship game. The 10th overall pick by the Spurs in the 1986 NBA Draft, Dawkins has gone on to coaching success at Stanford and his current post at UCF.


Tyler Hansbrough achieved nearly unprecedented individual and team success at North Carolina from 2005-09. He earned All-America First Team accolades all four years as a Tar Heel, including consensus National Player of the Year honors in 2008, and is the only four-time All-ACC First Team selection in league history. Hansbrough’s 2,872 career points are the most in ACC and Carolina history and rank 16th in the NCAA Division I record book. He broke UNC’s all-time rebounding record and held the mark until 2023, and is the only ACC player ever to lead his team in scoring and rebounding in four seasons. Hansbrough led the Tar Heels to the Final Four in 2008 and the national title in 2009 before being picked 13th overall by the Pacers in the 2009 NBA Draft.


Herb Magee spent his entire 54-year coaching career at Division II Jefferson, where he won 1,144 games – the most in DII history and the second-most across all NCAA divisions. Dubbed the “Shot Doctor” for his shooting expertise, Magee led Jefferson – formerly known as Philadelphia College of Textiles & Science and Philadelphia University – to 31 NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 1970 national title. His teams won 13 conference championships and had 24-consecutive winning seasons from 1997 through his retirement in 2022. Among numerous accolades, Magee earned NABC Division II Coach of the Year honors in 1976, the NABC Guardians of the Game Award for Education in 2005, and the NABC Hillyard Golden Anniversary Award in 2020. As a player at then-Philadelphia Textile, Magee scored 2,235 career points and averaged a school-record 29.1 points per game during the 1961-62 season. He was selected by the Boston Celtics in the 1963 NBA Draft, but instead chose to begin his coaching career as an assistant at his alma mater.

The late Tom Konchalski spent 43 years evaluating prospective college basketball players, earning a reputation as one of the sport’s most trusted talent scouts. Konchalski’s High School Basketball Insider – published 16 times a year – became the go-to source of scouting reports and prospect rankings for coaches throughout all levels of the sport. He also managed the Five-Star Basketball Camp, which showcased talent the likes of Michael Jordan, LeBron James, Kevin Durant and Stephen Curry, among many others, as high school players. Konchalski passed away in 2021 after a battle with cancer.


The winningest coach in NCAA history, Mike Krzyzewski engineered a four-decade run at Duke that was among the most dominant the game has ever seen. Krzyzewski won 1,202 total games – 73 in five seasons at Army followed by 1,129 across 42 years on the Duke sidelines – and earned 12 National Coach of the Year honors before his retirement in 2022. Krzyzewski’s Blue Devil teams captured five national championships, made 13 Final Four appearances, won 15 ACC Tournaments, and claimed 14 ACC regular season titles. He also re-established the United States’ perch atop international basketball, leading Team USA to Olympic gold medals in 2008, 2012 and 2016. Krzyzewski’s teams spent 127 weeks ranked No. 1 in the AP poll, and his 36 NCAA Tournament bids and 101 March Madness wins are both the most all-time.

PURCHASE TICKETS to the 2023 Induction Celebration. The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is an initiative of the NABC Foundation.