secure site seal
Thurs-Sat 10am-6pm | Sun 11am-6pm
Click For Details

Hello there

2021 Hall of Fame Induction Class

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Six accomplished former players and two decorated former coaches have been selected to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2021 presented by Nike.

The honorees will be enshrined in November 2021 in Kansas City at the 2021 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Celebration presented by Nike. The event is part of Kansas City’s Hall of Fame Weekend, which also includes the annual Hall of Fame Classic tournament.

Maryland’s late Len Bias, UCLA’s David Greenwood, Bradley’s Hersey Hawkins, Ohio State’s Jim Jackson, North Carolina’s Antawn Jamison, Kansas’ Paul Pierce join coaches Rick Byrd and Tom Penders to form the Class of 2021.

Few players have ever dominated the ACC like Maryland’s Len Bias did from 1982-86. He scored 2,149 points over his Terps career – the third-most in program history – and also averaged 5.7 rebounds per game. Bias’ accolades include two ACC Player of the Year awards, two All-ACC First Team selections, and All-America honors in 1985 and 1986. Bias was the No. 2 overall pick in the 1986 NBA Draft before tragically passing away shortly after.
From 1975-79, David Greenwood led UCLA to a 102-17 record, including a trip to the Final Four as a freshman. He ranks 13th in the Bruins’ all-time scoring list with 1,721 points and third in career rebounds with 1,022. Greenwood was a two-time All-American and a three-time All-Conference selection, and was drafted No. 2 overall in the 1979 NBA Draft by the Chicago Bulls.
One of the most lethal scorers in college basketball history, Hersey Hawkins started all 125 games in his Bradley career from 1984-88. His 3,008 career points rank 10th in the NCAA Division I record book, and he holds Bradley records for scoring, field goals made, free throws attempted and free throws made. Hawkins was a two-time All-American and two-time Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year, and was picked sixth overall by the Clippers in the 1988 NBA Draft.
Jim Jackson piled up 1,785 points in just three seasons at Ohio State, placing him seventh in Buckeye history. In a career spanning 1989-92, Jackson averaged 5.9 rebounds and four assists per game while shooting over 50 percent from the field. He led Ohio State to the 1991 Big Ten title and was a two-time All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year. Jackson was the fourth overall pick in the 1992 NBA Draft by the Dallas Mavericks.
Antawn Jamison is among the all-time greats to ever play at North Carolina. The forward scored 1,974 points from 1995-98 – eight-most in school history – and led the Tar Heels to Final Fours in 1997 and 1998. Jamison was a three-time All-ACC selection and a two-time All-American, and was named the ACC and National Player of the Year in 1998. He would go on to be drafted fourth overall by the Raptors in the 1998 NBA Draft.
Paul Piece averaged double-figure scoring in each of his three seasons at Kansas from 1995-98, leading the Jayhawks to 98 wins, three conference titles and a pair of league tournament championships. Pierce finished his career with 1,768 points, including 777 in his junior season where he was named a consensus All-American and a finalist for the Wooden Award. The Boston Celtics selected Pierce 10th overall in the 1998 NBA Draft.
Rick Byrd won 805 games at Maryville, Lincoln Memorial and Belmont from 1979-2019, making him the 12th-winningest coach in Division I history. In 33 years at Belmont, he reached eight NCAA Tournaments and led the Bruins to 17 conference regular season and tournament championships. Byrd was named the 1995 NAIA Coach of the Year and, following Belmont’s jump to NCAA Division I, he won conference Coach of the Year honors in five different seasons.
Success followed Tom Penders throughout his four decades of coaching. He won 649 games as the head coach at seven programs, ranking him in the top 40 of the NCAA record book. Penders took four different schools – Houston, George Washington, Texas and Rhode Island – to the NCAA Tournament, and won three regular-season conference titles and four league tournaments. The Atlantic 10 selected Penders as its 1987 Coach of the Year after he led Rhode Island to 20 wins in his first season on campus.

The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is located inside The College Basketball Experience (CBE), a world-class experiential entertainment facility adjacent to Kansas City’s T-Mobile Center. The Class of 2021 will be the 16th induction class in the Hall of Fame’s history.